Spring 2021 Artist-in-Action Series

Schedule & Descriptions

Silvia Del Bianco

— January 16/17 —

Making Joyful Connections

featuring video from the 2020 DSA National Conference
What does the Dalcroze teacher need to consider when designing a first eurhythmics lesson? We will talk about the type of exercises to use, how to give comments, suggestions, and corrections, and ways to help the participants manage their experience of movement, space, and group interactions.
On-demand seminar recording now available.

¹Must be registered and logged in

Del Bianco, DSA National Conference, DalcrozeUSA_0089
Pratson, D., DSA National Conference, DalcrozeUSA_0128

Dawn Pratson

— March 6/7 —

Organic Rhythm: The Music of Silence

featuring video from the 2020 DSA National Conference

Dawn will discuss her thinking behind this workshop and performance from the 2020 National Conference. Questions we might address include "What is the value to Dalcrozians of experiencing movement in silence?"

  Group Video Screening* Seminar with Presenter  
Saturday,
MARCH 6
4pm 5pm PST
  5pm 6pm MST
  6pm 7pm CST / CDMX
  7pm 8pm EST
  0:00 01:00 GMT London
Sunday,
MARCH 7
8am 9am Western Australia & Singapore
  9am 10am Tokyo
  11am 12 noon Sydney

*Optional. You may choose to watch the video on your own before the seminar.

¹Designed for American, Asian, & Australian time zones
²Must be registered and logged in

Cynthia Lilley

— April 24/25 —

Theme and Variations

featuring video from the 2020 DSA National Conference

Cynthia will walk us through a video recording of her workshop, pausing to discuss its specific aspects. How can the “Theme and Variations” form be explored through the lens of Dalcroze Education? What movement approaches can then be applied to our teaching and performance?

  Video Screening and Seminar with Presenter*  
Saturday,
APRIL 24
4pm PDT
  5pm MDT
  6pm CDT / CDMX
  7pm EDT
  23:00 GMT London
  7am Western Australia & Singapore
Sunday,
APRIL 25 
8am Tokyo
  9am Sydney

*Cynthia will play the video, pausing to discuss. You do not have to watch the video in advance.

¹Designed for American, Asian, & Australian time zones
²Must be registered and logged in

Lilley, C., DSA National Conference, DalcrozeUSA_0329
Bautz, Fabian, DSA 2018 National Conference

Fabian Bautz

— June 12/13 —

TaKeTiNa and Eurhythmics: A Study in Contrast

featuring video from the 2010 DSA National Conference
TaKeTiNa engages and challenges our body to become an instrument as we step, clap, and chant all at once. The artist will discuss videos of his TaKeTiNa sessions and consider how this practice uses the principles of rhythm and movement differently from eurhythmics.
  Group Video Screening* Seminar with Presenter  
Saturday,
JUNE 12
8am 9am PDT
  9am 10am MDT
  10am 11am CDT / CDMX
  11am 12 noon EDT
  16:00 17:00 GMT London
  11 pm 12 midnight Western Australia & Singapore
Sunday,
JUNE 13
12 midnight 1am Tokyo
  1am 2am Sydney

*Optional. You may choose to watch the video on your own before the seminar.

¹Designed for American, African, & European time zones
²Must be registered and logged in

The DALCROZE LAB is a virtual forum for educators to explore the process and pedagogy of Dalcroze Education from anywhere.

The Spring 2021 Artist-in-Action Series invites master Dalcroze teachers to revisit one of their in-person workshops from the DSA Video Library. Participants will watch the original class, hear reflections from the presenter, and join in vibrant discussion with the master teacher and others around the world.

Missed a seminar or can’t join us in real time? All seminars will be archived for you to watch (or rewatch) later.